Home News APC wins Lagos House of Reps by-election
APC wins Lagos House of  Reps by-election

APC wins Lagos House of Reps by-election


Image result for APC wins Lagos House of  Reps by-electionThe candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Nurudeen Akinwunmi has been declared winner of winner of the Ifako-Ijaiye Federal Constituency By-Election in Lagos.

The returning officer of the election, Prof. Clement Aghatise, made the declaration at the INEC office in Ifako-Ijaiye Local Government, minutes before midnight.

Declaring the winner, Aghatise said that Akinwunmi polled 7,640 votes to defeat his closest rival, Babatope Akinyele, candidate of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 1,771 votes at the poll.

According to him, Social Democratic Party (SDP) polled five votes, Action Alliance (AA) had 14 votes, African Democratic Congress (ADC) had 158 votes while Alliance for Democracy (AD) had 101 votes.

Aghatise said that the total number of registered voters was 339, 864; total number of accredited voters was 10, 051; total number of valid votes was 9689; the total number of invalid votes was 195, while the total votes cast were 9884.

The by-election was occasioned by the death of APC’s Elijah Adewale, who represented the constituency at the Federal House of Representatives.

Adewale died in Abuja on July 20.

%d bloggers like this: